Stephanie Deere

REVIEW: Tame Impala – ‘Lonerism’

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

You should probably stop whatever you’re doing and listen to Lonerism by Tame Impala. The bands forthcoming second album doesn’t drop until next week- October 9th, but yesterday NPR had provided a first listen: Lonerism’ In Its Entirety.

This album has been highly anticipated, and for a good reason. Since the release of 2010’s Innerspeaker, Australia’s quartet has built a sizable buzz for themselves. The band provides a grooving-psychedelic style as they frequently touch on brilliance.

Album opener “Be Above It” is a very satisfying release that brings back the taste of Tame Impala’s heavy psychedelic sounds, and the ethereal vocals that have uncanny similarities with John Lennon’s, led by Kevin Parkers.

Though this song doesn’t reach until the second half of the record, “Elephant” the albums ninth track is an enthralling listen, and it gets the heart of Tame Impala’s most hard-grooving beat to date. It’s one of the lead tracks on the record, and a song I repeatedly listened to for weeks. It has a throbbing rhythm, the catchiest bass line ever, and it’s expertly mixed with sounds that are sure going to make you wanna’ move. The arrangement is remarkably amazing as well as an easier listen for anyone thinking of exploring the world of Tame Impala.

“Apocalypse Dreams” is the third track on the album, and was one of the two singles Tame Impala had released. It emphasizes a dream like rhythm, and it’s everything a psych-flowing melody should aspire to be: enticing, original, and ultimately irresistible.

“Sun’s Coming Up” had an understanding excellence of simple piano-laden ballads while Parkers delivery on the song had a uniquely haunting voice where guitar psychedelia meets distortion, which added a layer of heaviness to the album’s closing track.

Tame Impala’s Lonerism definitely accounts for a great deal of variety with both elegant and vibrational sounds.  Overall, the band has their very own brand of psychedelic-rock, yet sometimes it’s hard to believe one can make such glorious sounding. Tame Impala, you’re on a roll.

01. Be Above It
02. Endors Toi
03. Apocalypse Dreams
04. Mind Mischief
05. Music to Walk Home By
06. Why Won’t They Talk to Me?
07. Feels Like We Only Go Backwards
08. Keep on Lying
09. Elephant
10. She Just Won’t Believe Me
11. Nothing That Has Happened So Far Has Been Anything We Could Control
12. Sun’s Coming Up

You must be logged in to post a comment Login