She & Him announce 3 So-Cal Tour Stops

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

She & HimShe & Him – Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward – will release their third album of original material, entitled Volume 3, on Merge Records on May 7th, 2013 (The album will see its release in the UK/Europe on Domino Records on May 13th, 2013).  The duo will also be hitting the road for a month-long tour this summer, which kicks off at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on June 13th, and includes a headlining show at the legendary Hollywood Bowl on June 23rd, as well as an evening at Central Park Summerstage in July. Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell and Camera Obscura provide support on select dates.  A full list of tour dates are below.  PRESS HERE for ticket on-sale dates and information.

With fourteen songs – 11 Deschanel originals and 3 covers – Volume 3 is an effortlessly effervescent, bleached-out-in-the-sun pop record.  The album features some of the most dynamic, complex songs Deschanel has ever written, allowing for tempo shifts, disco grooves, string arrangements on multiple tracks, and horn flourishes that perfectly suit the She & Him sound.  Produced by M. Ward, and recorded in Los Angeles, Portland, and New York City, Volume 3 features guest contributions from NRBQ’s Joey Spampinato, Mike Watt, Tilly and the Wall, Pierre de Reeder from Rilo Kiley, and Tom Hagerman from Devotchka.

Since the release of the band’s album Volume Two in 2010, much has happened to both She and to Him.  Deschanel, whose television show New Girl has cemented her status as a sitcom star, continued to hone her songwriting skills, writing the theme song for her new show, in addition to being nominated for a Grammy for Best Original Song for  the movie Winnie the Pooh.  She wrote songs for Volume 3 during small pockets of downtime while filming New Girl, as Ward toured the world behind his latest solo creation, A Wasteland Companion, which was released to massive critical acclaim last year.   Together and separately, the duo has sold over a million albums domestically – a testament to their classic sonic arrangements, their rich, incomparable voices, and their ability to craft pitch-perfect, Brill Building-esque choruses around timeless, universal themes.

Track listing for Volume 3:
1.        I’ve Got Your Number, Son
2.       Never Wanted Your Love
3.       Baby
4.       I Could’ve Been Your Girl
5.       Turn to White
6.       Somebody Sweet to Talk To
7.       Something’s Haunting You
8.       Together
9.       Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me
10.   Snow Queen
11.   Sunday Girl
12.   London
13.   Shadow of Love
14.   Reprise (I Could’ve Been Your Girl)

Tour dates:
6/13/13                Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
6/15/13                Grand Prairie, TX @ Verizon Wireless at Grand Prairie
6/16/13                Austin, TX @ ACL Live at the Moody Theatre
6/18/13                Phoenix, AZ @ Comerica Theater
6/19/13                Las Vegas, NV @ The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas
6/21/13                San Diego, CA @ SDSU Open Air Theatre
6/22/13                Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre *
6/23/13                Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl *
6/25/13                Salt Lake City, UT @ Red Butte Gardens
6/27/13                Council Bluffs, IA @ Hurrah’s Stir Cove
6/29/13                Chicago, IL @ Aragon Ballroom #
7/1/13                   Ann Arbor, MI @ Hill Auditorium #
7/3/13                   Montreal, QUE @ Montreal Jazz Festival – Symphony Hall #
7/4/13                   Toronto, ON @ Toronto Urban Roots Festival #
7/6/13                   New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage #
7/9/13                   Philadelphia, PA @ Mann Center for Performing Arts #
7/10/13                Boston, MA @ Bank of America Pavilion #
7/11/13                Vienna, VA @ Filene Center at Wolf Trap #

* with Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
# with Camera Obscura

You must be logged in to post a comment Login