Paul Hebert

Simian Mobile Disco – “Temporary Pleasure”

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Simian Mobile Disco’s sophmore release “Temporary Pleasure” is an electro-rock exctravaganza that is an absolute must have. While their 2006 smash “Attack Decay Sustain Release” was well received and produced the classic hit “Hustler“, it pales in comparison to the electro excellence that is “Temporary Pleasure.

Comprised of London-based producers James Ford and Jas Shaw, Simian Mobile Disco continues to stay true to their organic recording process. Utilizing only analog synthesizer and drum machines the duo provides a clean and pure sound.

The album is highlighted by tracks featuring some of the best in the business. Starting out with a bang the album kicks off with the stellar track “Cream Dream” featuring none other than Gruff Rhys of the Super Furry Animals and Neon Neon. Beth Ditto of the Gossip lends her beautiful voice to “Cruel Intentions” while Alexis Taylor of british electropop band Hot Chip helps out on “Bad Blood“.

The album features several stand out tracks including the sure to be club hits “Turn up the Dial” and “The Audacity of Huge” featuring Chris Keating of New York’s Yeasayer.

The driving synthesizers in “10,000 Horses Can’t Be Wrong” are so addicting that you quickly find yourself mesmerized by their laser-esque sounds.

The album is set to be released on Tuesday Aug. 18, followed by a U.S. tour in the fall.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login